Top Ten…2014 Releases I Meant To Read But Didn’t

I read a LOT of books in 2014! 102 to be exact, and considering I only read FOUR books in 2013, I would say that I was able to cover a lot of ground last year. I was shocked though, when I went to Goodreads to start pulling together my Top Ten list for this week and discovered just how many 2014 releases I never got to.

Source: The Broke and The Bookish

Source: The Broke and The Bookish

Before I even hit July, I had eleven books that I meant to read last year and never did. Such a sad statistic! I was finally able to work my way down to a top ten and here are my final selections.

Top10Jan13

Snow Like Ashes / Red Rising / A Mad Wicked Folly
Dreams of Gods and Monsters / Cruel Beauty / Boomerang
The Chance You Won’t Return / Threats of Sky and Sea
The Art of Lainey / The Kiss of Deception

How many books did you not get to last year? Are any of them listed here? I’d love to hear in the comments below.

23 thoughts on “Top Ten…2014 Releases I Meant To Read But Didn’t

  1. RED RISING, BOOMERANG, KISS OF DECEPTION, and CRUEL BEAUTY are some books I’ve highly anticipated reading and yet haven’t so far. Having so many books on my TBR pile, personally, makes it difficult for me to read all the books I want to. Good luck on reading these books, and definitely let me know how they are. 🙂

  2. I’m currently reading SNOW LIKE ASHES but it’s on my list, too. And oh my gosh, A MAD, WICKED FOLLY is so, so good. I have ARCs of that and CRUEL BEAUTY if you want to borrow them. BOOMERANG was the first New Adult book I read and it was light and fun, and I also need to read THE ART OF LAINEY. I’ve heard pretty good things for the most part about THE KISS OF DECEPTION, and I still need to read DAYS OF BLOOD AND STARLIGHT.

    Rachel @ Beauty and the Bookshelf

  3. I really, really need to read A Mad Wicked Folly. I’m seriously considering buying it right now as I keep seeing it on people’s lists and it’s reminding me how much I want to read it! I liked The Art of Lainey! 🙂 I’m yet to read The Kiss Of Deception. I hope you enjoy these books when you do get around to them.

  4. All I can say is READ RED RISING NOW!! It was so so good. What I will say is that it is definitely more high fantasy than dystopian like I have seen it be labelled. It has the most amazing world building and character development and it is action packed! Really hope you like it when you get around to reading it 🙂

    My TTT

  5. I totally forgot about Red Rising! I was about to put it on my list too. Now that the sequel is out, I think I am going to get around those books soon! DoGaM is also in my list! I’m excited to read so many books this year ❤ Snow Like Ashes and Boomerang too almost made it my top ten! ❤ Still reading them soon though. I hope you enjoy Cruel Beauty. It was unique and fun 😀

  6. Oh I feel like you’ll like Cruel Beauty for sure! Dreams of Gods and Monsters is on my list too-I’m just afraid to read it! Would you want to buddy read maybe?

    Basically most of your list I still have to read-even though I read 156 books last year! How did that happen?

  7. Of these I got to Snow Like Ashes, Dreams of Gods & Monsters, Cruel Beauty (which was much more amazing than I expected) and I am currently reading Red Rising, which once I got into it I am absolutely loving! I’ve seen most of the others floating around but never got too interested. I’ll have to see what others are saying about them now.

  8. Snow like Ashes is one you definitely need to read! I loved Cruel Beauty as well, and I thought Kiss of Deception was pretty good as well. I didn’t get around to reading Red Rising either…adult hardbacks are so expensive! 😦

    – Barbara @ My Bibliophile Mind

  9. What is with you and Andi not having read Snow Like Ashes?!?! Get on that already!! The Art of Lainey is also really cute and I highly recommend it. We also share 2 books…maybe we can do a group read of one of them 🙂

    My TTT is here.

  10. So I have not read one of the books on your list today either and more than half of them I am/was really excited about! Cruel Beauty, Snow Like Ashes, and Kiss of Deception are very high on my priority list for this year, hopefully we both get to all of them 🙂

  11. Out of your 10, I read 4 and 3 are on my TTT post! I read and absolutely LOVE Snow Like Ashes. Definitely one of my favorite 2014 reads. I also loved The Art of Lainey, A Mad, Wicked Folly, and Boomerang. The Kiss of Deception, Cruel Beauty, and Dreams of Gods & Monsters are all on my list. And I have been meaning to read Red Rising too. Great list! I hope you get to read them all this year! And I hope you enjoy them!

  12. You need to read Snow Like Ashes and The Art of Lainey soon! They’re both really good. I enjoyed The Kiss of Deception and A Mad, Wicked Folly, as well.

Leave a Reply

