Home for the Holidays with Lindsey from A Bookish Sinister Kid

I feel like I need to prepare all of you for today’s Home for the Holidays post from Lindsey at A Bookish Sinister Kid! You may very well go into sugar shock from all of the sweets and goodies she’s sharing with us. After reading this post you’re going to want to hitch a ride home with Lindsey this holiday season so you can stuff your faces with all of the amazing baking her mom has been doing! Epic levels of holiday baking ahead…don’t say I didn’t warn you!

Holidays header

Christmas Cookies For All and To All a Goodnight!

It’s the most wonderful time of the year….
Oh there’s no place like home for the holidays…
Chestnuts roasting on an open fire, Jack Frost nipping at your nose…
I could go on but you get the point…ITS THE HOLIDAY SEASONNNNN, AND HOOP-DEE-DOO, AND DICKERY DOCK! Lol sorry, Christmas music just flows right through me! SO…besides the music being epic, the movies making you believe in Christmas miracles, writing down your gift wish lists, what’s the other best thing about the holidays?
COOKING.
BAKING.
ALL OF IT! OH MY!
I come from a family that’s half Italian and the other half is an equal mix of German and Irish. Sadly, my dad’s mom had a rough upbringing so she never had much of a tradition except for when my sister and I grew up she would bring over a garbage bag, A LEGIT GARBAGE BAG, full of gifts for each of us! As a child, Gram hit the jackpot in being the best gift giver lol! #toysforeveryoneSo that leaves my mom’s side. which brought the food tradition together. Interestingly enough, my mom’s parents didn’t do anything spectacular but my grandmother’s sister…so that’s my mom’s aunt— Auntie Millie, is who I believe had the food gene. She taught my mom all the recipes that my mom has bestowed on our family for years now and she never disappoints! (sorry it’s creepy her obituary is randomly in this book haha…meanwhile re-discovering this recipe book, turns out she was like 78 when she died, NOT 48 like the newspaper reads LOL!)Processed with VSCOcam with a2 presetAnd with that Italian gene we have, this means my mom goes all out. There’s not even a hint of exaggeration. Ask Book Rock Betty. She came to my house last year with Katie from our book club and while my mom didn’t make all the food, she added a few dishes,  had a decent amount of her cookies out and they saw how all out my mom goes.Each Christmas my mom always SAYS she’ll keep her baking to a minimum but she never does. Right around Thanksgiving or a little before she stocks up on supplies: pounds of butter, flour, sugars of all kind—powdered, dark brown, light brown, granular, she buys pecans, hazelnuts, walnuts, and pignoli nuts (which are pine nuts that have such a stench that when arranging the cookies you make sure these cookies don’t corrupt the rest with its smell). Cocoa is bought, peanut butter is purchased, coconut is stacked high along with mini chocolate chips and Hershey’s kisses. See where I’m going with this? It’s insanity in my house. My mom comes up with a baking strategy where she bakes 3-4 cookies per day and makes an epic amount. (sadly I don’t have a picture of all the tins and containers she stacks up altogether but you can see with the following how intense…that’s 5 sugars and flours DEEP that are all 5lbs…so she’s got 25 pounds of each ALREADY and this was taken before Thanksgiving this year!)ingredientsThe baked goods my mom usually rolls out for the holiday season are, get ready…
  • Aginetti (these are an Italian cookie that’s like a lemon drop cookie just without the lemon flavor, we call them Aginetts)
  • Cream Cheese cookies
  • Ricotta cookies
  • Biscotti (chocolate & hazelnut)
  • Peanut Butter cookies
  • Treasure cookies
  • Seven layer bars
  • Star sugar cookies
  • Butter cookies
  • Butter balls
  • Pignoli cookies
  • Snickerdoodles
  • Thumbprints
  • Chocolate crinkles
  • Spiced pecans
  • Almond cookies
  • Santa’s Whiskers

…I’m drawing a blank but I know there’s a few more she’ll try to make. I mean, right there that’s at least fifteen cookies she will regularly bake. And that’s not including any cooking she’ll do as well!

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 presetThe nice and sad thing about this is that my sister and I don’t have much interest in doing the baking, though we’re definitely okay with doing all of the taste testing–a very important part of the baking process!My mom is attempting to type out all her baking recipes in an online cookbook thing where she can get them printed out as a book and my sister and I can keep them for our families–keep the traditions going. But for now, my mom-as much as she says she’s tired and it’s a lot of work-she really does love doing it. And she’s all semi-psycho about us helping out so we can have clean-up duty jobs: washing, drying, dirtying again.With carols playing in the background, our fireplace going, or maybe even a Christmas classic film or two, the holiday baking process is one that is epic in The Kid’s family. It’s something I’m proud and happy to have as a memory because I’m lucky enough my mom wanted to instill a tradition on us. Whether we embrace in one way now and maybe another in the future, we still have it which is more than most individuals can say.And for fun, I’m attaching the recipes for anyone who wants to try them and add to their baking fun this holiday season! A classic is the Ricotta cookies and then my mom wanted me to include one of her favorites, Almond cookies! Hope everyone has a fantastic holiday season, safe and healthy–a joyous one all round!

xo – Lindsey aka The Kid

Italian Ricotta Cookie

Processed with VSCOcam with a2 preset

  • 2 sticks butter or margarine, softened
  • 1 lb ricotta cheese
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 2 eggs

Beat the above ingredients well. Add 4 cups sifted flour, 1 tsp salt, 1 tsp baking soda, 2 tsp baking powder. Mix well and drop onto engrossed cookie sheet.Bake at 350º for 15 mins. For icing, mix 2 cups confectionary sugar, 3 tbsp milk, 1 tsp vanilla – lemon extract or vanilla to taste.Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Almond Cookie

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

  • 1 cup butter
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 2/3 cups almonds – grate with skin
  • 1 and 2/3 cup flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt

Cream butter, sugar, almond, flour, salt. Roll long shape. Bake. Roll in cinnamon and confectionary sugar.

holly1Ummm…I think I gained 10 pounds just reading this post. I would love to see all of this baking in action, as I’m sure Lindsey’s mom has it down to a science! I cannot imagine how much WORK this requires and all I can say is…GO MOM! Thankfully, we’ll all have an opportunity to burn off all the calories we gained from today’s post when Jess at Gone with the Words shares her holiday playlist! Get your dancing shoes ready!

3 thoughts on “Home for the Holidays with Lindsey from A Bookish Sinister Kid

  1. Woohoo! So happy to have a part in the holiday feature! All of the posts have been great so far 🙂

    Also, let’s note that my mom has in our basement freezer: 22lbs of butter. Twenty. Two.

    Exactly 😀 lol!!

Leave a Reply

