Home for the Holidays with Emma from Miss Print

I hope you guys are hungry, because  Emma over Miss Print has a delicious cookie/treat recipe for us all to bring to our next cookie swap! She also has some fabulous tips on hosting said cookie swap and by the end of this post you’re going to be cookie experts! Is there anything in life that’s better than that?

Holidays header

When Sarah asked if any bloggers would want to take part in a series of holiday posts this year, my immediate response was “Of course!” I love the holiday season and even go so far as to have a Tour de Xmas every year to see all of the wonderful holiday windows in New York City.

Being a book blogger, my first instinct was to talk about a holiday book for this post. But seasonal books are few and far between. Especially since I’ve already talked about Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares at length on my own blog. (And have a Dash and Lily Day adventure every year inspired by the book.)

The other thing that I’ve started doing on a semi-regular basis is hosting a cookie swap. I don’t like entertaining to large crowds (particularly late into the night) because it’s a huge imposition to my mom and it’s just not my bag. But I do like seeing friends at the holidays and showing off my Christmas decorating efforts. And I love cookies. So I host a cookie swap.

cookie

Although I am taking this year off, I do have some tricks and a recipe to get you started if you want to host your own cookie swap in the future.

Here’s what you should remember:

  • Any time is a good time for cookies: While I host mine near the holidays, you can really host a cookie swap any time of year (except perhaps in the summer because no one wants to do serious making in the heat).
  • Give your guests notice: I usually give everyone a month notice for the swap if not more so that people can work around busy holiday schedules and also so that people have time to get the baking done.
  • Let guests know what to expect: I always explain that a cookie swap involves everyone leaving with different kinds of cookies and that this means a lot of baking. If I invite five people that means everyone is making five to six dozen cookies so that there are cookies to taste and for people to take home. I also give wiggle room saying people will leave with as many cookies as they bring to keep things fair and orderly.
  • Ask for RSVPs: I also try to keep people posted on how many people will be coming–particularly if it will dramatically change how many cookies need to be baked! (This also helps me because I pre-package any cookies I’m giving to guests since they’re all traveling.) I tried once to ask people what they were making but it was really hard to pin down and people like having the freedom to bake as they like whether that means making one kind of cookie or three.
  • Request recipes: I try to remind people to bring print outs of their recipes to the swap as well so that everyone leaves with a lot of new baking ideas.
  • Serve food: Sometimes I order pizza or put out bagels and various condiments. To promote that party feel though I make sure there is some stuff to munch on that is not actually cookie-based. I do not, under any circumstances, cook for the swap because I’m already baking a ton of cookie and have my hands full getting the party ready.
  • Have fun and keep it simple: The nice thing about a cookie swap is that it can be as simple or fancy as you want it to be. Yes, there will always be baking involved but beyond that it’s up to you.

cookie

To get you started with your cookie swap planning I will also give you one of the simplest and tastiest cookie recipes I’ve found: Easy Oreo Truffles (as seen on AllRecipes.com)

Ingredients

  • 1 (16 ounce) package OREO Chocolate Sandwich Cookies, divided
  • 1 (8 ounce) package PHILADELPHIA Cream Cheese, softened
  • 2 (8 ounce) packages BAKER’S Semi-Sweet Baking Chocolate, melted

Directions

Crush 9 of the cookies to fine crumbs in food processor; reserve for later use. (Cookies can also be finely crushed in a resealable plastic bag using a rolling pin.) Crush remaining 36 cookies to fine crumbs; place in medium bowl. Add cream cheese; mix until well blended. Roll cookie mixture into 42 balls, about 1-inch in diameter.

Dip balls in chocolate; place on wax paper-covered baking sheet. (Any leftover chocolate can be stored at room temperature for another use.) Sprinkle with reserved cookie crumbs.

Refrigerate until firm, about 1 hour. Store leftover truffles, covered, in refrigerator.

If you want more recipe ideas you can also always check out other recipe sites. Or Pinterest which is where I store a lot of recipes
including two different boards just for cookies!

Happy Holidays!

holly1

All I have to say is…YUMMY! I’m a huge fan of Oreos, so these truffles are calling my name. I’m actually going to make a batch of my very own to bring over to my in-laws for Christmas day, that is if I don’t eat them all before we get there. I mean, it IS a two-hour drive! Stay tuned for tomorrow’s guest blogger Lindsey from A Bookish Sinister Kid! She’s sharing even more holiday recipes that are perfect for all of your parties and gatherings! Wait until you see how hard-core her mom is when it comes to holiday baking! I’ve honestly never seen anything like it…and it’s awesome!

Leave a Reply

