Home for the Holidays with Daphne from Gone Pecan

Happy Wednesday friends, and Happy (first full day of) Hanukkah! We’re deep into the holiday season these days and just as we’re kicking off Hanukkah, there’s only eight days left until Christmas. I hope everyone is finding themselves in the holiday spirit, but if you still need a little festive jump-start, Daphne from Gone Pecan has a great list of Adult and Young Adult books themed around Christmas and the winter season!

Holidays header

Hi, this is Daphne from Gone Pecan. Christmas is by far my favorite time of the year. I love the decorations, the food, the feeling of people coming together, spending time with family, seeing the awe and wonder on kids faces, snowmen…I could go on, but I won’t. Today I’m here to talk about my favorite Christmas and Winter themed YA and adult books. Christmas time always brings with it a sense that anything can be done, no matter how outrageous. For this reason, I love reading Christmas and Winter themed books because they always have a happy ending and I am all about a happy ending. I like seeing things work out and the feeling that miracles can happen. I like ending a book with an unintentional smile on my face and these books have done just that.

Adult Christmas/Winter Themed Books

source: goodreads

source: goodreads

Devil in Winter by Lisa Kleypas, Wallflowers #3

This is a series set in Regency England about a group of girls who become friends when they are thrown together at various Ton events because they happen to be sitting together, near the wall…hence, they are Wallflowers. This book, in particular, is a favorite among myself and a lot of other bloggers that I know because it has the best redemption story. But before you read this, you need to read the other two books to get the back story and why this redemption is necessary.

A Lady Most Willing by Julia Quinn, Eloisa James, and Connie Brockway, The Lady Most… #2

This is another Regency era book, this time taking place in Scotland. A group of ladies are kidnapped from a ball during winter in Scotland in order for the heirs of a Scottish landowner to find suitable wives and claim their inheritance. It was a quite fun and fast-paced book that had me laughing quite a bit. Each author writes about a different couple and it all pulls together quite nicely. And you cannot go wrong with Julia Quinn for historical romance.

Holly Lane by Toni Blake, Destiny #4

Loved the characters in this one. Divorced mom falls for ex-husband’s best friend. Throw in Christmas and a little girl who just wants a reindeer or for her parents to get back together. Scrooge-ish storyline, too (my favorite Christmas trope).

The Christmas He Loved Her by Juliana Stone, Bad Boys of Crystal Lake #2

Gah, this book. After returning from Afghanistan, Jake feels guilt for what he did there as well as for what he felt was his part in his twin’s death there. Add to that, he’s in love with his brother’s widow, Raine, and has been since they were kids. These are two people who are very attracted to each other and plagued by guilt and obligations, in more than just the most obvious areas. Another redemption story, what can I say. Also, I am a sucker for an unrequited love story. Keep tissues on hand, though.

Young Adult Christmas/Winter Themed Books

source: goodreads

source: goodreads

Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan

Such a cute book about strangers who get to know each other through a red notebook over the course of a Christmas vacation. It’s kind of an outrageous concept, but it’s adorable, sweet, and fun.

Let it Snow: A Holiday Romance by John Green, Maureen Johnson, & Lauren Myracle

I have to preface this by saying that I read this YEARS ago & don’t really remember everything, but I do remember that it was sweet & funny. My favorite story was by John Green. It was the first thing I ever read by him and I think it may have been the first book I ever read with a boy protagonist. It is definitely season-appropriate.

My True Love Gave to Me: Twelve Holiday Stories edited by Stephanie Perkins (written by a bunch of popular YA authors)

I wanted to read this book as soon as I heard about it. All of my favorite YA authors writing about my favorite time of year?! Yes, please! There are contemporary and fantasy stories here, but they all work very well together. I think my favorite are Rainbow Rowell’s Midnights (which I read twice), Stephanie Perkins’ It’s a Yuletide Miracle, Charlie Brown, and Laini Taylor’s The Girl Who Woke the Dreamer. I’m giving this book as a gift to a bookish friend this year & I know she’ll love it.

My 2014 Christmas/Winter Book TBR

source: goodreads

source: goodreads

It’s a Wonderful Fireman by Jennifer Bernard, San Gabriel Bachelor Firemen #6.5

Obviously, it’s a take on It’s a Wonderful Life, but centers around firefighter Dean Mulligan, who doesn’t think he’s good enough for the girl of his dreams.

Yours for Christmas by Susan Mallery, Fool’s Gold #15.5

This is the story of a single mother and a former professional football player who’s been seriously burned in the past. I loved Kenny in the previous 3 books in the series because he was very enigmatic and the glimpses into his past were a little heartbreaking. Bailey’s back story is more heartbreaking, though, and I’m looking forward to them getting a happy ending. I preordered this one and I cannot wait to get to it.

Merry Christmas, Baby by Jill Shalvis, Lucky Harbor #12.5

This is the last book in the Lucky Harbor series, which I LOVE and will sorely miss.   It’s a novella about my favorite couple in the series, Sawyer and Chloe, the stoic sheriff of Lucky Harbor and his adorable wild-child wife, Chloe. I think I know where this one is going, but it’s gonna be so fun to get there and I’m certain it will put a smile on my face.

That’s it for me. I really think there’s something for everyone here. I hope you guys have a fantastic Christmas season and all your wishes come true.

holly1

Thank you so much Daphne for such a wonderful line-up of holiday and winter themed books. Some of them look downright steamy! LOL! We continue the Home for the Holidays special feature tomorrow with Emma at Miss Print. She’s sharing a delicious treat that is sure to be a HUGE hit for all those people on your holiday goodies gift list!

2 thoughts on “Home for the Holidays with Daphne from Gone Pecan

  1. I’ve read two holiday novellas so far this December and I don’t plan to slow down, so this post is most perfect and helpful because holiday romances are my jam right now. 😀 I loved Dash & Lily, and have both Let It Snow and My True Love, but I really want to read the adult ones most! Thanks, Daphne!!

Leave a Reply

